Layout & Schedule

The Rathowen Gathering 2013 comprised of three main locations –

Screen Shot 2013-09-02 at 13.56.35

The Rathowen Gathering Museum

The Community Centre was transformed into the Rathowen Gathering Museum, documenting the history of Rathowen and its occupants down through the years. There was also an art feature including an amazing mural deisgned by Nigel Payne (see below).

Connaughton’s Bar

Connaughton’s Bar featured a wide variety of musical acts including – The Greasy Coat Stringband, Oakwin, Nell Ni Chroinin, Sophie Coulter, Tony Benn and the Tally Ho Band.

Feerick’s Hotel

Feerick’s Hotel hosted events both indoors and on the Main Stage outside. These included a number of musical performances from acts such as Shauna Mackin, the Sean Marshall Group, and the Dheis Folk Group. A pop-up cinema inside showed Irish short films including the Oscar-winning Six Shooter starring Brendan Gleeson, and the Oscar-nominated Give Up Yur Aul Sins shorts. There was also an official Rathowen Gathering film presentation (see ‘Gallery and Film’ tab) as well as a Writer’s Corner featuring special appearances by two-time Hennessy Award winner Dermot Healy and renowned local playwright Jimmy Keary.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s